REVIEW: Tammy Jones Robinette – The Drive

tjrobinette-andthedriveProducer: Mark Fain
Label: Rural Rhythm Records

Tammy Jones Robinette is no stranger to music.  She is well known in the Southern Gospel field and is treading her roots to the bluegrass genre.  She was raised in Middlesboro, Kentucky and honors her roots where bluegrass music runs rapid.  She loves this music that she grew up listening to it since her father was a fan and played the mandolin.  Her rich alto voice shines on this project as she is backed by some of the biggest names in the bluegrass world such as Dale Ann Bradley, Steve Gulley, Jamie Dailey and Jimmy Fortune just to name a few.  Many of the top musicians also lend a hand on this project such as Sam Bush, Ron Block, Scott Vestal and Mark Fain.

Her latest project entitled The Drive was released in October and is full of songs that that will have you tapping your toes.  Not only is she a great singer, but she wrote four of the songs like “To Be A Kid Again.” “The Letters” tells about letters to a woman from a son that was killed in war. “Mama’s In The Sweet By and By,” which starts with a choir of voices, and “The Man In Those Shoes” which is a tribute from a wife to her husband and tells all he does for his family.

If you like banjo playing “I’ve Got To Work On The Ark,” “My Rock,” and “Oh I Want To See Him” are great upbeat ones.  “There’s A Record Book” is a song you might recognize as a tune that the Primitive Quartet did several years back.  A great patriotic one is “The Colors That Never Ran.” Slowing down the pace a bit are “I’ll Think I’ll Let You Drive,” “Pages Of Time,” and “Love God”.

This is a 4 star recording.  If you are a lover of Bluegrass or Bluegrass Gospel, this project is a must for your collection and one that will be played many times over.

Song List:
1 – To Be A Kid Again
2 – I Think I’ll Let You Drive
3 – I’ve Got To Work On The Ark
4 – The Letters
5 – There’s A Record Book
6 – Mama’s In The Sweet By And By
7 – Pages Of Time
8 – The Man In Those Shoes
9 – My Rock
10- Love God
11 – The Colors That Never Ran
12 – Oh I Want To See Him

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 2 Average: 4]
Carol Lawson on Facebook
Carol Lawson
Reviewer/Contributing Writer
Carol Lawson has been actively involved in gospel music for over 30 years, working with many groups doing bookings and concert promotions. Carol was a gospel radio DJ for 9 years, and she previously wrote articles and concert reviews for CMP Magazine and SGImpact.